5
\$\begingroup\$

Razzle-Dazzle increases the duration of blindned or dazzled condition:

Extend the duration of the blinded or dazzled condition you give the target by 1 round.

Blindness blinds also on a Success:

Success: The target is blinded until its next turn begins.

How do these two interact?
Options:

  1. "until its next turn begins" is not a duration measurable in rounds, so it is unchanged
  2. the target is blinded until the beginning of its second turn
  3. other
\$\endgroup\$
2
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ This question is being discussed on Meta \$\endgroup\$ May 31, 2021 at 21:00
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ I would hazard a guess that it is 2, but cannot prove it conclusively (hence comment not answer) \$\endgroup\$ Jun 1, 2021 at 11:40

1 Answer 1

6
\$\begingroup\$

Blinded until beginning of its second turn

There is no necessary minimum duration that Razzle-Dazzle mentions. Normally, the Blindness condition would expire at the start of the targets turn. From the Start of Turn rules:

If you created an effect lasting for a certain number of rounds, reduce the number of rounds remaining by 1. The effect ends if the duration is reduced to 0.

So a normal Blindness would have a round duration of "1" that expires at the start of the targets turn. Razzle-Dazzle, as it mentions, would extend this duration by 1 round, so it would be option 2 (the Blindness condition would expire at the start of the target's second turn).

Not even the Duration rules mention any special cases for extending things that expire at the start of a creature's turn. So Razzle-Dazzle would behave normally.

\$\endgroup\$

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .