In a recent session, my Wizard cast immolate on an opposing wizard and did enough damage to kill the already damaged target of the spell. By the spell's own description, "If damage from this spell kills a target, the target is turned to ash". It doesn't say anything about carried items the way that disintegrate does. My DM ruled that all the items including the wizard's spell book, item bag, scroll case and Wand (undetermined contents and type) were destroyed in the ensuing fire. I attempted to argue that carried items weren't listed as being destroyed specifically like the disintegrate spell, but I let up since DM's have final say in ruling situations.
I would like to know the general consensus on the wording as to whether the items should have been destroyed or not just for future games or future situations where this may come up as a problem again.