6
\$\begingroup\$

Does the language used in the Mighty Summoner feature, "Summoned OR Created", allow the ability to apply to a player transformed by polymorph?

Does polymorph, which reads, "This spell transforms a creature that you can see within range into a new form", count as creating a beast?

\$\endgroup\$
7
\$\begingroup\$

A Polymorphed creature is still the creature.

To determine if a creature was “created or summoned” by a spell we ask the question:

was this creature here before the spell was cast?

Now, say I cast polymorph on Jim. Was Jim here before the spell was cast? Yes. I have not created Jim, I have not summoned Jim. Jim’s been here the whole time. Mighty Summoner does not apply to Jim.

\$\endgroup\$
-1
\$\begingroup\$

No

Polymorph is a Transmutation spell. It doesn't summon or create anything; it transforms one thing into a different thing.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.