6
\$\begingroup\$

Let's say three combatants are in a line. The goblin is in the first square, the fighter in the second square, and the bard with a whip behind the fighter.

If the bard attacks the goblin with the whip 'over' the fighter, does the goblin get a cover bonus to it's AC?

\$\endgroup\$
11
\$\begingroup\$

YES

Per the SRD:

Cover

To determine whether your target has cover from your ranged attack, choose a corner of your square. If any line from this corner to any corner of the target’s square passes through a square or border that blocks line of effect or provides cover, or through a square occupied by a creature, the target has cover (+4 to AC).

When making a melee attack against an adjacent target, your target has cover if any line from any corner of your square to the target’s square goes through a wall (including a low wall). When making a melee attack against a target that isn’t adjacent to you (such as with a reach weapon), use the rules for determining cover from ranged attacks.

Emphasis mine. Whip, as a reach weapon, uses ranged attack rules for cover, and ranged rules give +4 AC if there is a creature between attacker and the target.

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Thank you! I read the cover rules entry, but somehow missed the second bolded sentence in your answer. \$\endgroup\$ Jun 10 at 13:07
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Glad to help! I remembered it only because I forgot it earlier:) \$\endgroup\$
    – Mołot
    Jun 10 at 13:10

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.