3
\$\begingroup\$

I have a problem to understand how this spell works.

The spell description says:

Reroll the saving throw and use the better result. You then become temporarily immune for 10 minutes.

But there is no duration assigned. So would I have to cast the spell after I rolled a bad saving throw? Or do I have to cast this spell beforehand so that it triggers. But how many hours before do I have to cast the spell?

\$\endgroup\$
8
\$\begingroup\$

Lucky Break is a Reaction

Cast [Reaction] verbal; Trigger You fail (but don't critically fail) a saving throw.

You generally get one Reaction per round, refreshing at the start of each of your turns. You use Lucky Break in response to the Trigger, using that one Reaction. Other Reactions include Attack of Opportunity (for those that have it) and Champion Reactions.

Reaction Triggers are slightly different than Spells that you set a trigger for such as Magic Mouth. You can note the difference in the Action type for using the spell (typically, spells are Reactions or Two Actions, but there are a number of 1 and 3 Aciton spells, and a few variable action ones). Reaction spells always follow the rules on Reactions, and take up your Reaction for the round, never your turn's Actions.

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ It may be good to note that this is different from the spell triggers discussed in the rules for spellcasting, or at least, I think it is and it may be the cause of the confusion. The example spell they give is the Magic Mouth \$\endgroup\$
    – Medix2
    Jun 15 at 12:04

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.