In most situations, spell effects of the same name do not stack, per the rule on combining game effects added in the errata for the DMG (p. 252):
[...] when two or more game features have the same name, only the effects of one of them—the most potent one—apply while the durations of the effects overlap. [...]
However, the death ward spell may be an exception to the intent of the rule. Death ward is unique compared to other durable buffs, because it both replaces its trigger and ends when it triggers (emphasis mine):
The first time the target would drop to 0 hit points as a result of taking damage, the target instead drops to 1 hit point, and the spell ends.
I can see two possible interactions with multiple castings of death ward:
Scenario A
- Carl has two instances of death ward active on him. Only the most recent one applies.
- Carl takes a hit that would drop him to 0 hit points.
- The active instance of death ward triggers, dropping Carl to 1 hit point instead and ending that instance of death ward.
- Because Carl did not drop to 0 hit points, the inactive instance of death ward does not trigger.
- Carl now has a single instance of death ward active.
In this scenario, Carl effectively has two stacks of death ward.
Scenario B
- Carl has two instances of death ward active on him. Only the most recent one applies.
- Carl takes a hit that would drop him to 0 hit points.
- Both instances of death ward trigger. The activation of death ward causes Carl to drop to 1 hit point instead of 0 hit points.
- Carl has no instances of death ward active anymore.
In this scenario, the instances of death ward do not stack. Note that this scenario is identical to the ones described in this Q&A: What happens when identical overlapping effects have their end-condition met?
Which of these scenarios is correct?