7
\$\begingroup\$

Is there any circumstance that a rider on a mount, in a saddle of the cavalier, could be unseated against their will?

Here are some possible things to consider:

  • Mount is pushed (combat action), grappled, moved against or with its will.

  • Rider is pushed (combat action), grappled, moved against or with its will. etc...

  • Larger creature that can "swallow whole", either mount or rider, as a combat action.

  • Teleportation magic

\$\endgroup\$
8
\$\begingroup\$

You are knocked unconscious.

This one is obvious from the magic item description:

you can't be dismounted against your will if you're conscious

"Dismount" is a game term defined in the rules for mounting and dismounting.

Here are the things from the mount rules that the Saddle of the Cavalier prevents:

If an effect moves your mount against its will while you’re on it, you must succeed on a DC 10 Dexterity saving throw or fall off the mount, landing prone in a space within 5 feet of it. If you’re knocked prone while mounted, you must make the same saving throw.

If your mount is knocked prone, you can use your reaction to dismount it as it falls and land on your feet. Otherwise, you are dismounted and fall prone in a space within 5 feet it.

This is what the magic item description is referring to when it says "you can't be dismounted against your will".

Teleportation and getting swallowed are different from being dismounted.

Neither being teleported, nor being swallowed, are covered in the rules for mounting and dismounting, because dismounting is a specific thing defined in those rules. The Saddle of the Cavalier will not prevent teleportation or being swallowed, because those things are not the same thing as being dismounted.

\$\endgroup\$
8
  • \$\begingroup\$ If the saddle prevents this: If an effect moves your mount against its will while you’re on it, you must succeed on a DC 10 Dexterity saving throw or fall off the mount, landing prone in a space within 5 feet of it. If you’re knocked prone while mounted, you must make the same saving throw. Isn't that the result of the mount being swallowed whole, or teleporting away? \$\endgroup\$ Jun 23 at 19:46
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Swallowed-whole is an effect, and it causes your mount to be moved against its will. \$\endgroup\$ Jun 23 at 19:52
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ What about forced movement of the rider away from the mount? \$\endgroup\$ Jun 23 at 23:37
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @interested3rdparty Teleportation is not movement. I can see "swallowed-whole" as a sort of forced movement effect, though. \$\endgroup\$ Jun 24 at 8:02
  • \$\begingroup\$ @KogarashiKaito The Teleport spell says that it instantly transports (moves) you from a to b. It says the target must be willing. Dismount rules state if the mount moves involuntarily. The mount can't willingly teleport, to trigger a rider dismount, but I feel that if the mount was unwilling to be teleported, movement even via teleport (from something other than the spell Teleport) is movement. \$\endgroup\$ Jun 24 at 14:09

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .