7
\$\begingroup\$

The Circle of Stars druid's Starry Form feature (TCoE, p. 38-39) lets the druid expend a use of Wild Shape to enter a starry form, choosing a constellation to glimmer on their body that grants certain benefits. The Chalice option grants the following benefit:

A constellation of a life-giving goblet appears on you. Whenever you cast a spell using a spell slot that restores hit points to a creature, you or another creature within 30 feet of you can regain hit points equal to 1d8 + your Wisdom modifier.

Which healing spells benefit from/interact with the "Chalice" Starry Form?

It's obvious how some healing spells (e.g. cure wounds or healing word) interact with it, and so I don't think I need clarification on them - but some others are less obvious to me.

For instance, the goodberry spell creates berries that can be eaten within the next 24 hours to restore 1 HP to the creature:

Up to ten berries appear in your hand and are infused with magic for the duration. A creature can use its action to eat one berry. Eating a berry restores 1 hit point, and the berry provides enough nourishment to sustain a creature for one day.

Meanwhile, the healing spirit spell creates an intangible spirit that you can cause to heal a creature in the same space (XGtE, p. 157):

You call forth a nature spirit to soothe the wounded. The intangible spirit appears in a space that is a 5-foot cube you can see within range. The spirit looks like a transparent beast or fey (your choice).

Until the spell ends, whenever you or a creature you can see moves into the spirit’s space for the first time on a turn or starts its turn there, you can cause the spirit to restore 1d6 hit points to that creature (no action required). The spirit can’t heal constructs or undead. The spirit can heal a number of times equal to 1 + your spellcasting ability modifier (minimum of twice). After healing that number of times, the spirit disappears.

Finally, the aura of vitality spell creates an aura that moves with you and lets you use a bonus action to heal an ally in the aura (PHB, p. 216):

Healing energy radiates from you in an aura with a 30-foot radius. Until the spell ends, the aura moves with you, centered on you. You can use a bonus action to cause one creature in the aura (including you) to regain 2d6 hit points.

(Aura of vitality isn't normally on the druid spell list, but it's added to the druid spell list by the "Additional Druid Spells" optional class feature (TCoE, p. 35).)

None of these 3 spells immediately heals a character at the moment it's cast, but each one creates an effect that can then heal a creature. Do these qualify for the benefit of the Chalice form?

\$\endgroup\$
1
7
\$\begingroup\$

Chalice states:

A constellation of a life-giving goblet appears on you. Whenever you cast a spell using a spell slot that restores hit points to a creature, you or another creature within 30 feet of you can regain hit points equal to 1d8 + your Wisdom modifier.\

"Whenever you cast a spell" is the important bit. It does not state "whenever a healing effect you produce" or "whenever one of your spells would cause healing", it states the condition "you cast a spell".

On top of that, there's an extra qualifier to the condition. "Whenever you cast a spell that restores hit points." The effect of the spell must include restoring hitpoints.

Goodberry - Casting Goodberry creates berries, and doesn't restore hit points. Eating a berry restores hit points, but is not casting a spell. It does not benefit from Chalice.

Aura of Vitality - Using a bonus action to initiate your healing aura's ability is not casting a spell, and will not benefit from Chalice.

Healing Spirit - Moving into a space in the healing spirit's AoE is not casting a spell, and will not benefit from Chalice.

\$\endgroup\$
5
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ But does casting Goodberry trigger it? (Or any of the others, really) \$\endgroup\$
    – Erik
    Jul 5 at 12:42
  • \$\begingroup\$ My answer specifies "it will not benefit". None of the spells I list in my answers heal as part of casting the spell. \$\endgroup\$
    – JRodge01
    Jul 5 at 12:43
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ While I agree, I would like this answer to expand briefly on whether a DM adjudicating differently from the RAW would be acceptable for a table \$\endgroup\$
    – BlueMoon93
    Jul 5 at 13:16
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ I can't weigh in on whether it would be acceptable for a table. That's an agreement between the players and the DM, and outside the scope of the question. \$\endgroup\$
    – JRodge01
    Jul 5 at 13:43
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Lovell Good point. I edited my answer to take it into consideration; please let me know what you think. \$\endgroup\$
    – JRodge01
    Jul 6 at 15:22

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.