3
\$\begingroup\$

I'm confused by the Sidekick rules in Tasha's Cauldron of Everything. In the "Gaining a Sidekick Class" section, it says this:

Proficiency Bonus

The sidekick's proficiency bonus is determined by its level in its class, as shown in the class's table. Whenever the sidekick's proficiency bonus increases by 1, add 1 to the to-hit modifier of all the attacks in its stat block, and increase the DCs in its stat block by 1.

So when I'm building a level 1 sidekick, is the listed +2 proficiency bonus considered two instances of "proficiency bonus increases by 1", or is the creature considered to already have a +2 bonus, and only gets to upgrade attacks and saves once it reaches a proficiency bonus of +3 on the relevant sidekick class table?

As a specific example, a Bandit has a Dexterity bonus of +1 and his two attacks (scimitar and crossbow) both have a +3 bonus, implying a pre-existing proficiency of +2.

So when he becomes a sidekick and gains a level of Expert, do his attacks still have a +3 attack bonus or do they suddenly become +5?

\$\endgroup\$

1 Answer 1

3
\$\begingroup\$

+2 should NOT be added at Sidekick level 1

NPCs and monsters actually already have a proficiency bonus before becoming a sidekick, it just isn't always shown in their stat block. D&D Beyond does include it, as well as some printed sourcebooks, but it seems to be entirely dependent on the monster's Challenge rating based on this table available in the Basic Rules (p. 112):

Proficiency Bonus by Challenge Rating

Sidekicks (officially) can only be made from monster stat blocks with Challenge rating 1/2 or less, so their proficiency bonus doesn't "increase" when they become a level 1 sidekick, and thus no change to the stat block is necessary.

\$\endgroup\$
5
  • \$\begingroup\$ Well that's a little bonus DDB gives you, then. The Monster Manual version of the Bandit does not list an explicit Proficiency Bonus. \$\endgroup\$ Jul 10, 2021 at 16:15
  • \$\begingroup\$ @DarthPseudonym I think recent printings should? \$\endgroup\$ Jul 10, 2021 at 16:16
  • \$\begingroup\$ @ThomasMarkov I have the Nov. 2018 box set, which is the 9th printing and had all the errata added in, and it doesn't have proficiency bonuses listed. I can't speak to anything printed after that. \$\endgroup\$ Jul 10, 2021 at 16:21
  • \$\begingroup\$ @DarthPseudonym I'll update the answer; I don't know which sourcebooks would have it but the Basic Rules have a "Proficiency Bonus by Challenge Rating" table rather than explicitly listing it per stat block. It isn't exclusively a D&D Beyond feature though, the stat blocks in Candledeep Mysteries have it stated as well. \$\endgroup\$ Jul 10, 2021 at 17:10
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @KamilDrakari Seeing that chart actually made me think I'd seen it before, and yes, I found it -- it's in the monster manual on page 8, in the introduction section that I almost never look at, near the section about Skills. Thanks! I still think the sidekick rules could've stood to mention outright that all the viable monster statblocks have an included +2 prof bonus, though. \$\endgroup\$ Jul 10, 2021 at 17:56

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .