5
\$\begingroup\$

The Quick Toss maneuver from Tashas Cauldron indicates a ranged attack can be made with a bonus action for expending a superiority die.

Could you quickly toss a Magic Stone? How much damage would it do?

\$\endgroup\$

1 Answer 1

14
\$\begingroup\$

This does not work

Quick Toss states (emphasis mine):

As a bonus action, you can expend one superiority die and make a ranged attack with a weapon that has the thrown property. [...]

The magic stone cantrip states:

[...] You or someone else can make a ranged spell attack with one of the pebbles by throwing it or hurling it with a sling. If thrown, it has a range of 60 feet. [...]

The attacks from magic stone are spell attacks1 and so do not use a weapon, and the stones also do not have the actual thrown property.


1 Note that when using a Sling, though you are not making a weapon attack and are instead making a spell attack, you are making an attack that uses a weapon. However, the Sling does not have the thrown property, so this doesn't work either.

\$\endgroup\$
3
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Reluctantly agree. I want this to work, and your DM could allow it, but technically a magic stone isn't a weapon, thrown or otherwise. \$\endgroup\$ Jul 15, 2021 at 1:37
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ IMHO a DM should absolutely allow it. You're using an otherwise rather niche feat and niche cantrip (two rather high opportunity costs), only to get an extra attack in your second round [1st round cast magic stone w/ bonus action, 2nd round throw it with bonus action]. However, RAW it doesnt, talk to your DM \$\endgroup\$
    – Hobbamok
    Jul 15, 2021 at 9:26
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ > The attacks from magic stone are spell attacks and so do not use a weapon Not entirely correct - you can use a magic stone with a sling to make a "ranged (spell) attack with a weapon". See: rpg.stackexchange.com/a/80254 Of course sling doesn't have thrown property either, so it doesn't change the conclusion. \$\endgroup\$
    – SilentAxe
    Jul 15, 2021 at 12:20

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .