A few creatures, such as the Archmage, have resistance to damage from spells.

If I cast a summoning spell such as Conjure Animals, do the summoned creatures do half damage against an enemy that has resistance to damage from spells?

It's not clear to me if a summoned creature's damage is considered to originate from the summoning spell, or from the creature itself, which is not a spell.


1 Answer 1



The spell Conjure Animals doesn't deal any damage, since no damage is mentioned in the text. Thus, the damage dealt by any creatures summoned by the spell comes from the creature, not the spell.


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .