1
\$\begingroup\$

The description for Alchemical Savant say:

You've developed masterful command of magical chemicals, enhancing the healing and damage you create through them. Whenever you cast a spell using your alchemist’s supplies as the spellcasting focus, you gain a bonus to one roll of the spell. That roll must restore hit points or be a damage roll that deals acid, fire, necrotic, or poison damage, and the bonus equals your Intelligence modifier (minimum of +1).

Now, say I have multiclassed with a Wizard and learn Infestation (a cantrip available to both Artificer and Wizard) and Chromatic Orb (only on the Wizard's spell list) via that class. Both can do poison damage so they qualify on that part.

Can I take advantage of Alchemical Savant with either spell?

Unlike a lot of other class features, it doesn't say, "When you cast an [insert class name] spell...", just cast a spell and use tools as the focus.

Initially I would just say no, but, while not laid out in the PHB, in XGE it says that the Alchemist's Supplies kit contains:

Alchemist’s supplies include two glass beakers, a metal frame to hold a beaker in place over an open flame, a glass stirring rod, a small mortar and pestle, and a pouch of common alchemical ingredients, including salt, powdered iron, and purified water.

And in the PHB, the [Wizard's Arcane] focuses are described as:

An arcane focus is a special item--an orb, a crystal, a rod, a specially constructed staff, a wand-like length of wood, or some similar item--designed to channel the power of arcane spells. A sorcerer, warlock, or wizard can use such an item as a spellcasting focus.

So it may be possible to have an arcane focus built-in to the character's alchemist’s supplies and do double duty...


The is a related question about spells with no material components, but this is about spells that have material components, but learned through a different class.

\$\endgroup\$
4
\$\begingroup\$

Your alchemists supplies can only cast artificer spells.

The artificer’s spellcasting feature states:

You produce your artificer spell effects through your tools. You must have a spellcasting focus—specifically thieves’ tools or some kind of artisan’s tool—in hand when you cast any spell with this Spellcasting feature (meaning the spell has an ‘M’ component when you cast it).

On the other hand, the Wizard’s spellcasting feature says:

You can use an arcane focus (see the Adventuring Gear section) as a spellcasting focus for your wizard spells.

An arcane focus and alchemist’s supplies are just two different things. You must use your alchemist’s supplies on artificer spells and your arcane focus on wizard spells.

An arcane focus is a specially designed piece of equipment, not a rod for mashing ingredients into a pestle:

An arcane focus is a special item — an orb, a crystal, a rod, a specially constructed staff, a wand-like length of wood, or some similar item — designed to channel the power of arcane spells.

There is no way to make Alchemical Savant work on your wizard spells. Obviously, you can ask your DM, but the rules as written and the rules intent is quite clear that you cannot use Alchemical Savant on anything other than your artificer spells. Ruling otherwise is a house rule, which is fine.

\$\endgroup\$
4
  • \$\begingroup\$ I forgot to call it out in the original question (I just added it in), but does it make a difference that Infestation is available on the Artificer spell list? \$\endgroup\$
    – MivaScott
    Jul 18 at 18:02
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Miva Nothing changes \$\endgroup\$ Jul 18 at 18:27
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Medix2 thanks, I’ll work it in when I get home from the park. \$\endgroup\$ Jul 18 at 18:33
  • \$\begingroup\$ Found another question that similarly explains (through a very different example) that nothing would change \$\endgroup\$ Jul 18 at 18:35

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.