5
\$\begingroup\$

So the Telekinetic feat allows you to attempt to move another creature 5 feet with a bonus action

As a bonus action, you can try to telekinetically shove one creature you can see within 30 feet of you. When you do so, the target must succeed on a Strength saving throw (DC 8 + your proficiency bonus + the ability modifier of the score increased by this feat) or be moved 5 feet toward you or away from you. A creature can willingly fail this save.

  1. Could you use this on a creature that is flying directly above you to push them down toward you?

  2. Could you use this out of combat to help an ally climb a rope up toward you?

\$\endgroup\$
2
4
\$\begingroup\$

Telekinetic does not stipulate an absolute direction.

The direction of the push and pull of the Telekinetic feat is not defined in an absolute sense - it does not require the movement to be horizontal, vertical, or otherwise. Rather it is defined in a relative sense - relative to you. So if a creature is directly overhead, “toward or away from you” is, naturally, in the vertical direction.

\$\endgroup\$
3
  • \$\begingroup\$ So, if you throw yourself prone right next to the opponent and use the feat, would that shove the creature upwards? :) \$\endgroup\$
    – Senmurv
    Jul 29 at 15:56
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Senmurv Unfortunately no. \$\endgroup\$ Jul 29 at 15:57
  • \$\begingroup\$ Is that because of the grid (squares) or what is your reasoning. I guess it's the "directly overheard" bit. However, where did you get this from in the spell's description? ...what if you don't use a grid? In a "relative sense" would the prone example not work? \$\endgroup\$
    – Senmurv
    Jul 30 at 7:40

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.