In this case I am talking about a specific scenario involving the following feat and power combo.

I have a level 9 Invoker who has Mark of Storm:

Mark of Storm [Dragonmark]

Benefit: Whenever you hit an enemy with a thunder or lightning power, you can slide that enemy 1 square.

I am considering taking the L9 Invoker Daily, Herald of the Storm Unleashed, which has the following:

Effect: The burst creates a zone of lightning and thunder that lasts until the end of your next turn. Any creature that begins its turn within the zone takes 5 lightning damage. Any creature that leaves the zone takes 5 thunder damage. As a move action, you can move the zone 5 squares.

Would creatures starting in or leaving the zone be subject to the slide granted by Mark of Storm?


2 Answers 2


No, creatures starting in or leaving the zone are not subject to the slide granted by Mark of Storm

From the Players Handbook p276 and the DDI Compendium description of Hit

If the attack roll is higher than or equal to the defense score, the attack hits...

And further rulings on the non-hitting-ness of non-attack roll powers such as the Heroes of the Fallen Lands update to Magic Missile (see Does the New Magic Missile Trigger "On Hit" Powers or Effects?), since the damage from starting a turn in a zone has no associated attack roll, there is no hit off of which mark of storm can trigger.



You only get the benefit from powers that trigger on a hit when you successfully roll to hit.

The DMG defines Hit on page 276 under Attack Results.


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .