4
\$\begingroup\$

If a monster, such as a Chuul, has grappled a character can they end the grapple for free?

EG a Chuul attacks a halfling with a pincer attack and hits, the halfling is now considered grappled, trapped in its pincers. The Chuul then grappled another character with its other pincer and finally paralyses the halfling with the tentacle.

I know it can still attack with its pincers in subsequent turns but, if it wanted to now grapple a 3rd character could it voluntarily drop the halfling and would this be a “free” action? Alternativley if the halfling was not paralyzed could it also now end the grapple and still attack?

\$\endgroup\$
18
\$\begingroup\$

No action is required to release a grapple.

The rules for grappling state:

[...] you can release the target whenever you like (no action required).

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ do you know what, I read and read the rules and seemed to just not see that sentence until you pointed it out. Hate it when the brain does that :) Thankyou \$\endgroup\$
    – Richard C
    Jul 29 at 23:37
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @RichardC Happens to the best of us. Happy to help. \$\endgroup\$ Jul 29 at 23:41

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.