9
\$\begingroup\$

When does a poison saving throw interval of "one round" end?

Take this poison for example:

Hunting Spider Venom (poison) Saving Throw Fortitude DC 16; Maximum Duration 6 rounds; Stage 1 1d10 poison and flat-footed (1 round); Stage 2 1d12 poison, clumsy 1, and flat-footed (1 round); Stage 3 2d6 poison, clumsy 2, and flat-footed (1 round).

Let's say a spider hits me with an attack that delivers this poison. And let's say I fail my save.

If you fail the initial saving throw, after the affliction’s onset period elapses (if applicable), you advance to stage 1 of the affliction and are subjected to the listed effect.

Given that I wasn't previously poisoned, and given that my save wasn't a critical failure, I advance to stage 1, I take 1d10 poison damage, and I become flat-footed.

At the end of a stage’s listed interval, you must attempt a new saving throw.

When is this new saving throw performed?

  • At the start of the attacking spider's next turn?
  • At the end of the attacking spider's next turn?
  • At the start of my next turn?
  • At the end of my next turn?

I believe the third option (at the start of my next turn) is the correct answer, but I didn't find the rule that makes it so.

\$\endgroup\$
13
\$\begingroup\$

The poison interval occurs at the start of the attacking spider's next turn.

This comes from the Duration rules, specifically:

For an effect that lasts a number of rounds, the remaining duration decreases by 1 at the start of each turn of the creature that created the effect.

So at the start of the spider's turn, the flat-footed condition you were inflicted with ends and you make a new saving throw to determine if you advance to the affliction's next stage or if you manage to cure yourself.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.