I'm playing D&D 5th edition. My character is a multiclassed Tempest cleric level 2/Sorcerer level 9.

If an enemy hits one of the duplicates from a Mirror Image spell cast by me, does it trigger the Tempest cleric's Wrath of the Storm feature?

  • \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center for more guidance. \$\endgroup\$
    – V2Blast
    Commented Aug 8, 2021 at 22:08

1 Answer 1


You are not hit when an attack hits a duplicate from mirror image, so Wrath of the Storm does not activate

The Tempest cleric's Wrath of the Storm feature description states (PHB, p. 62; emphasis mine):

[...] When a creature within 5 feet of you that you can see hits you with an attack, you can use your reaction to cause the creature to make a Dexterity saving throw. [...]

Meanwhile, the mirror image spell states, in part (emphasis mine):

Each time a creature targets you with an attack during the spell's duration, roll a d20 to determine whether the attack instead targets one of your duplicates.


A duplicate's AC equals 10 + your Dexterity modifier. If an attack hits a duplicate, the duplicate is destroyed. A duplicate can be destroyed only by an attack that hits it. [...]

When a duplicate is hit by an attack, you are not hit by that same attack; because of this, you cannot activate Wrath of the Storm.


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .