5
\$\begingroup\$

In Tasha's Cauldron of Everything, Page 81, it describes the Telekinetic Feat. The third paragraph states:

As a bonus action, you can try to telekinetically shove one creature you can see within 30 feet of you. When you do so, the target must succeed on a Strength saving throw (DC 8 + your proficiency bonus + the ability modifier of the score increased by this feat) or be moved 5 feet toward you or away from you. A creature can willingly fail this save.

My question is: Could the user of this feat target themselves, choose to fail the save and push themselves out of Melee range, thus causing the same effect as a Disengage Action?

I am unsure as the wording suggests you can, however the following statement seems to indicate you cannot self target:

or be moved 5 feet toward you or away from you.

\$\endgroup\$
3
17
\$\begingroup\$

You cannot be moved away from you.

The motion of the telekinetic shove is defined relative to you:

toward you or away from you

"Toward" and "away" denote a change in the position between two reference points. "Toward" meaning the distance between you and the target is decreasing, "away" meaning the distance between you and the target is increasing. However, your position relative to yourself is constant - you can neither decrease nor increase the distance between you and yourself (this is the very first axiom of metric spaces). So you cannot use the feat to move yourself.

\$\endgroup\$
4
\$\begingroup\$

Even if you could move yourself, it would still provoke opportunity attacks.

The rules for avoiding opportunity attacks:

You can avoid provoking an opportunity attack by taking the Disengage action. You also don't provoke an opportunity attack when you teleport, or when someone or something moves you without using your movement, action, or reaction.

Using this feature of Telekinetic on yourself as described in the question would result in using an action to move out of an opponent’s reach. That doesn’t meet any of the criteria for avoiding the opportunity attack.

\$\endgroup\$
8
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ It's your bonus action, so your mileage may vary on if that counts when something just says action. \$\endgroup\$ Aug 17 at 19:29
  • \$\begingroup\$ Bonus actions are actions, right? \$\endgroup\$
    – Marq
    Aug 17 at 19:30
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Maybe? It is unclear if "your...action" here includes your bonus action. \$\endgroup\$ Aug 17 at 19:33
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Suppose a barbarian with the Instinctive Pounce feature (move half your speed as part of the bonus action to enter a rage) used it to leave an opponent's reach. I would expect that to provoke opportunity attacks. \$\endgroup\$
    – Marq
    Aug 17 at 19:38
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @PeterCordes The Sage Advice Compendium says a bonus action is an action, and the PHB descrbes it as "an additional action". \$\endgroup\$
    – Marq
    Aug 18 at 4:12

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .