3
\$\begingroup\$

I've been wondering about the following scenario: Our party is moving through a dungeon and comes upon a wall of fire. To proceed, we need to pass through. Dispelling does not work and we have no wish spell or antimagic field.

Say my Warlock makes a running jump through the wall, triggering Tomb of Levistus to negate much (if not all) of the damage. The invocation itself says: 'your speed is reduced to 0'.
Does that negate the ongoing momentum of the jump, causing the warlock to come to a halt?
Or can the momentum from the jump carry him completely through the wall of fire?

\$\endgroup\$
2

1 Answer 1

4
\$\begingroup\$

Yes. Jumping uses your available movement.

The rules for long jumps state:

Either way, each foot you clear on the jump costs a foot of movement.

Tomb of Levistus says:

your speed is reduced to 0

When your speed is reduced to 0 by Tomb of Levistus, you no longer have movement available to use on your jump, and your speed is 0 on your next turn, so your jump ends and you should fall to the ground wherever you were when you activated Tomb of Levistus.

This is how the rules as written handles this scenario, but a generous DM may choose to reward creative problem solving here and let you get away with it. As a DM, I tend to reward creative problem solving like this one time, and then have a conversation with the player after the session, explaining that I gave it to them this time, but moving forward, it would not work this way.

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ Just ask the Barbarian to hurl you across the room :D \$\endgroup\$
    – BlueMoon93
    Aug 30, 2021 at 14:22
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ @BlueMoon93 "Don't tell the Elf." \$\endgroup\$
    – Tiger Guy
    Aug 30, 2021 at 17:43

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .