In a D&D 5th edition game I'm running the PCs fought against Gorgons. The druid was wild shaped into an earth elemental (moon druid). The druid got turned to stone by failing two saves in a row to the gorgon's breath. What happens in this situation?

Is he a statue of a an earth elemental, or a statue of a druid? If he is an earth elemental, could you break the statue, doing enough damage to kill the earth elemental but not kill the druid, and would that free him, or just turn him into a statue of a druid instead of an earth elemental?

I can't seem to find rules on this anywhere.


1 Answer 1


Earth Elementals are immune to petrification.

See the Earth Elemental stat block:

Condition Immunities Exhaustion, Paralyzed, Petrified, Poisoned, Unconscious

The Earth Elemental can never be petrified, so we don't have to wonder what happens when they are petrified.

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ good call, I didn't even notice this, though would be good to know in the future if he wild shaped into something that is not immune \$\endgroup\$ Commented Sep 13, 2021 at 15:12
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @AndrewADeMarco What this doesn't answer is what happens when the chosen wild shape form is not immune to petrify, so it may be worth asking a new question, focusing on what happens when the statue is reduced to 0 hit points while still in wild shape form. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Sep 13, 2021 at 15:15
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @AndrewADeMarco To that end, I've reverted your last edit, I recommend making a new question focusing on what happens when the statue is reduced to 0 hit points. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Sep 13, 2021 at 15:16
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @AndrewADeMarco Ive changed the title here to more clearly differentiate it from that question as well. I think it's a good question to post. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Sep 13, 2021 at 15:19
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @AndrewADeMarco adding a link to the other question would make it go in linked questions, which is arguably better. but it's in related questions already anyway \$\endgroup\$
    – Ryxer
    Commented Sep 14, 2021 at 9:15

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .