17
\$\begingroup\$

According to the wording of the fly spell:

You touch a willing creature. The target gains a flying speed of 60 feet for the duration. When the spell ends, the target falls if it is still aloft, unless it can stop the fall.

The wording of the spell says that the creature "gains" 60 feet, so I am curious if this stacks with the natural fly speed of the creature. Let us say a creature has a fly speed of 30, would that creature then get 90 feet per turn, or would it go to 60 feet?

Additionally: If a creature with a fly speed has the fly spell on them and concentration is broken, would they technically fall, if the flight speed is solely dependent on their use of the spell?

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to the stack, and congratulations on a clear, well-presented and non-duplicated first question :). Do take the tour if you haven't already. \$\endgroup\$
    – Lovell
    Sep 17 at 9:42
26
\$\begingroup\$

It gets a fly speed of 60.

When this creature is under the affect of Fly they have these speeds:

  • Fly 30ft.
  • Fly 60ft.

When creatures have multiple speeds defined (e.g. Swim, Fly, Walk) they cannot move in excess of the greatest speed without taking advantage of a dash action or another feature which affects movement. When Fly is cast on it, your creature has 2 distinct Fly speeds. For this reason, it would have a maximum Fly speed of 60ft.

On the second part of the question, they would not fall as they possess a means to stop the fall via their other Fly speed.

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Not as silly as it sounds! A dragon, or a wizard with Wings of Flying, flies by flapping its wings. If someone entangles it by launching a net at it, it will fall -- until he casts the verbal-only Fly spell. Now he can fly by floating forward fast. \$\endgroup\$ Sep 18 at 1:01
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Ah, so the maximum of the (possibly multiple) fly abilities is what gets used. So one cannot "curse" a fast flying enemy down to 60ft speed by casting Fly on it. \$\endgroup\$
    – PcMan
    Sep 18 at 10:00
6
\$\begingroup\$

The problem is that you've left out a word in your summary. You wrote "gains 60 feet" (of flight speed). If the spell said that then it probably would take you from 30 to 90. But it doesn't quite say that. It says "gains a flight speed of 60 feet". D&D tries to use plain English and that word "a" seems important. You gain a flight speed, as in you gain that ability, set at 60.

Then you're at CardboardKnight's answer -- what does it mean to have 2 movement abilities with different values of 30 and 60? It seems obvious that you have pick one (the same as if you could walk at 30 and fly at 20).

\$\endgroup\$
4
  • \$\begingroup\$ I would argue gain is a poor word choice for plain language. Clearer language would be "changes to," as in "The flight speed of the target changes to 60 feet for the duration." \$\endgroup\$
    – trlkly
    Sep 19 at 21:20
  • \$\begingroup\$ No, because in that case you could reduce the flight speed of a creature by casting Fly on it. For example, you have a flight speed of 90. The someone cast fly on you. By your "changes to" rules now you flight speed is 60 max. Whereas with the "gain a flight speed" you still have your 90s. \$\endgroup\$
    – Kelhendros
    Sep 22 at 0:01
  • \$\begingroup\$ @trlkly "gain" is the actual word D&D uses in the spell description. As you write, it's a little trickier to read than "changes to", which means it means something a little trickier -- such as getting another Fly:60, in addition to any you already have. \$\endgroup\$ Sep 22 at 0:49
  • \$\begingroup\$ @OwenReynolds Ah. I get it now. Then I'd say the better wording would be "you gain the option to have Fly:60." Mostly I just think the use of the word "gain" here in the rules is confusing, and that some may be read as an "increase." Hence the "plain meaning" isn't nearly as clear. I do think you have it right, though. \$\endgroup\$
    – trlkly
    Sep 22 at 16:49

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.