The question is rather simple, but the answer is not explicitly stated in the rules... Or at least not that I could find.

Can a druid just switch shape by expanding a wild shape use while transformed?

Let's say my character is a druid of the circle of the moon, he is transformed into a bear and I'm down to 1 hp at the start of my turn. Can I expend one use of wild shape to turn into a dire wolf? If so:

  • Am I using an action for it? Or is it a bonus action still?
  • Is the dire wolf shape at full hp?
  • If the bear had some temporary hit points provided by an ally, are those temporary hit points transferred to the new form?


Browse other questions tagged .