6
\$\begingroup\$

The description of the spirit shroud spell says (emphasis mine):

any attack you make deals 1d8 extra damage when you hit a creature within 10 feet of you.

The description of the green-flame blade spell says (emphasis mine):

On a hit, the target suffers the weapon attack’s normal effects, and you can cause green fire to leap from the target to a different creature of your choice that you can see within 5 feet of it.

To me, that sounds like the single attack from green-flame blade is damaging 2 creatures, and the extra damage from spirit shroud should apply to both creatures.

Does the target of the secondary damage of green-flame blade also receive the extra damage from spirit shroud?

\$\endgroup\$
1
16
\$\begingroup\$

RAW: no.

"The second creature takes fire damage equal to your spellcasting ability modifier."

Spirit Shroud only takes effect on an attack, and as written the second creature "takes damage"; you do not explicitly make an attack against the second creature for the Spirit Shroud to affect.

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Also, I would include the Spirit Shroud damage in "the attack's normal effects", which apply only to the creature you hit with the attack. \$\endgroup\$ Sep 19 at 13:24

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .