6
\$\begingroup\$

The ability from the Death Domain Cleric is Improved Reaper:

Starting at 17th level, when you cast a necromancy spell of 1st through 5th level that targets only one creature, the spell can instead target two creatures within range and within 5 feet of each other. If the spell consumes its material components, you must provide them for each target.

Nowhere in the ability does it state that spells with a range of 'Self' are excluded. This differs from the Sorcerer's metamagic Twinned Spell:

Twinned Spell. When you cast a spell that targets only one creature and doesn't have a range of self, you can spend a number of sorcery points equal to the spell's level to target a second creature in range with the same spell (1 sorcery point if the spell is a cantrip). To be eligible for Twinned Spell, a spell must be incapable of targeting more than one creature at the spell's current level.

Assuming that the caster is within 5 feet of an ally, could Improved Reaper be used to cast two Spirit Shroud spells with only one person concentrating?

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • \$\begingroup\$ Does my answer solve your problem well enough for a green check? \$\endgroup\$ Oct 4 at 20:13
16
\$\begingroup\$

Another creature cannot be within range “self”.

Spirit shroud states:

the spell can instead target two creatures within range

Improved Reaper doesn’t specify what “within range” is within the text of the feature, so it has to be referring to the range of the spell you cast. Since spirit shroud has a range of self, and Improved Reaper requires that the second creature be “within range”, you cannot target a second creature, since you are the only creature within range “self”.

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Dare we ask about the edge case involving a find steed provided from a ring of spell storing? \$\endgroup\$ Sep 22 at 18:18
  • \$\begingroup\$ @KorvinStarmast: I don't think there's any difficulty in that corner case. Both the Improved Reaper domain feature and the relevant clause of Find Steed let you add an additional target to a spell you are casting. But since both of them require you to have only one target before they apply, you can't ever combine the two effects, since after the first rule is applied, the spell will have two targets. \$\endgroup\$
    – Blckknght
    Sep 23 at 8:05

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.