6
\$\begingroup\$

I'm playing a totemist. I want to deal more damage and expand my versatility by multiclassing into incarnate, but I've a question.

Does having the ability to bind a soulmeld to a chakra that's opened by having levels in the totemist class allow a creature to bind to that chakra a soulmeld gained from, for example, the incarnate class?

\$\endgroup\$
8
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, you can bind Incarnate melds to chakras unlocked via the Totemist class. The ability to bind a soulmeld to a given chakra is an ability that, once obtained, is independent of the phenomenon that granted it.

As far as I know, this is more a result of omission than something that is explicitly written out, however. The general rules for chakra binds (Magic of Incarnum page 51) do not mention that class-specific soulmelds can only be bound to a chakra unlocked via that class, and neither do the "Chakra Binds" class features themselves. For a final argument, I will add that such a restriction would make the prestige classes, the spells, the feats, the power, and the magic item that grant additional chakra binds rather useless.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.