4
\$\begingroup\$

Tigers get a bite attack and a claw attack along with this:

Pounce. If the tiger moves at least 20 feet straight toward a creature right before hitting it with a claw attack, the target must succeed on a DC 13 Strength saving throw or be knocked prone. If the target is prone, the tiger can take a bonus action to make one bite attack against it.

If the tiger moves at least 20 feet can they bite then use claw attack and get a possible second bite attack if the target fails the save?

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Can you cite the source of this description? Because it seems to be wrong, the actual one is: "[...] and then hits it with a claw attack *on the same turn, [...]". See here. \$\endgroup\$
    – Eddymage
    Commented Oct 8, 2021 at 6:57

1 Answer 1

25
\$\begingroup\$

No

The stat block for a tiger lists these actions:

Actions

Bite. Melee Weapon Attack: +5 to hit, reach 5 ft., one target. Hit: 8 (1d10 + 3) >piercing damage.

Claw. Melee Weapon Attack: +5 to hit, reach 5 ft., one target. Hit: 7 (1d8 + 3) slashing damage.

Compare this to the stat block of a polar bear:

Actions

Multiattack. The bear makes two attacks: one with its bite and one with its claws.

Bite. Melee Weapon Attack: +7 to hit, reach 5 ft., one target. Hit: 9 (1d8 + 5) >piercing damage.

Claws. Melee Weapon Attack: +7 to hit, reach 5 ft., one target. Hit: 12 (2d6 + 5) slashing damage.

The tiger stat block lacks the multiattack option which would allow both a claw and a bite attack. They could normally only use both during the same turn if they moved at least 20 feet towards their target, then made a successful claw attack and had the target fail their save, before using making the bite attack as a bonus action. Aside from that it would require some special effect like the haste spell to allow it.

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ Precisely, a creature has one action per round (unless a feature gives them another) and each attack uses that action. \$\endgroup\$
    – StuperUser
    Commented Oct 8, 2021 at 9:43
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Stat blocks list multiple attack types sometimes as flavour, and sometimes because they are facing something immune to one damage type or the like. The tiger would usually just bite; but both the special ability and special circumstances could make it claw instead (like, suppose you have a tiger in a muzzle or only able to reach a claw through a hole). \$\endgroup\$
    – Yakk
    Commented Oct 8, 2021 at 15:38

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .