3
\$\begingroup\$

In D&D 5e, the Wild Magic Sorcerer's Tides of Chaos feature (PHB, p. 103) states:

Starting at 1st level, you can manipulate the forces of chance and chaos to gain advantage on one attack roll, ability check, or saving throw.

Can sorcerers use this feature only on rolls, checks, and throws they themselves perform, or may they use it to give another character advantage? A strict reading of the text suggests the latter, but I don't know whether that betrays the intent of the feature.

\$\endgroup\$
12
\$\begingroup\$

No

Let’s remove the descriptive stuff from the sentence:

Starting at 1st level, you can manipulate the forces of chance and chaos to gain advantage on one attack roll, ability check, or saving throw.

Who gains advantage? You do.

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • \$\begingroup\$ Thank you! And you've also illustrated a principle I don't doubt I'll find helpful in the future—remove the non-mechanical language from the text and see what's left. I'll wait a day or two before accepting, just in case, but I really appreciate it. \$\endgroup\$ Oct 9 at 15:50
-1
\$\begingroup\$

No

Quote from Advantage and Disadvantage

Sometimes a special ability or spell tells you that you have advantage or disadvantage on an ability check, a saving throw, or an attack roll. When that happens, you roll a second d20 when you make the roll.

As you noticed, Tides of Chaos says that you can gain advantage on some roll, and there's nothing preventing you from gaining advantage on another character's roll.

However, advantage causes you to roll twice when you make the roll. Having advantage on someone else's roll/check/save doesn't have an effect because you never make the roll.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.