5
\$\begingroup\$

The third benefit of the Spell Sniper feat says:

You learn one cantrip that requires an attack roll. Choose the cantrip from the bard, cleric, druid, sorcerer, warlock, or wizard spell list. Your spellcasting ability for this cantrip depends on the spell list you chose from: Charisma for bard, sorcerer, or warlock; Wisdom for cleric or druid; or Intelligence for wizard.

Since the Primal Savagery cantrip makes an attack roll, can it be learned this way?

The spell has a range of "Self", and uses a melee spell attack rather than a ranged one, so I'm unsure if it can be learned using the spell.

\$\endgroup\$
3
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Is there a reason you think this might not work? \$\endgroup\$ Oct 10 at 4:39
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ Because the range is self and does not benefit from this feat. \$\endgroup\$ Oct 10 at 6:41
  • \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center for more guidance. I've edited the reason you're unsure into the post itself; please check to make sure I've maintained your intent. \$\endgroup\$
    – V2Blast
    Oct 10 at 22:17
10
\$\begingroup\$

Yes!

Spell Sniper gives several benefits, including allowing you to learn a spell meeting three criteria:

  • Is a cantrip
  • Requires an attack roll
  • Is on the bard, cleric, druid, sorcerer, warlock, or wizard spell list

Primal Savagery is a druid cantrip that requires an attack roll. It meets all three of the criteria for Spell Sniper.

It does not make a ranged spell attack, and doubling a spell with a range of self will have no effect, so the other two benefits of Spell Sniper will not affect this particular cantrip. This does not stop you from picking it as the spell you learn from the last benefit.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.