Awaken is a pretty cool spell.

As a 9th-level druid, can I cast awaken to get a cool animal or plant friend, and then swap out the spell for some other 5th-level spell while keeping my cool animal or plant friend? Or do the effects of Awaken end when you swap out the spell?

I am assuming the effects of the spell continue, which makes me wonder why (outside of the consumed material component worth 1000 gp) I wouldn't just always have an awakened companion (re-casting every month) but never really keep the awaken spell on my list of prepared spells.

  • \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center for more guidance. \$\endgroup\$
    – V2Blast
    Commented Oct 12, 2021 at 17:35
  • \$\begingroup\$ You don't even need to re-cast it every month unless you want it to be charmed the whole time. Just treat it nicely and maybe it'll be friendly forever. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Oct 13, 2021 at 16:12
  • \$\begingroup\$ Does my answer solve your problem well enough for a green check? \$\endgroup\$ Commented Dec 30, 2021 at 12:22

1 Answer 1


Awaken has a duration of “instantaneous”, and the awakened state has no listed end condition.

When you finish casting the awaken spell, it simply takes effect, having a duration of “instantaneous”. There are no end conditions for the awakened state listed in the spell description, so there are none.

You are free to prepare a different spell tomorrow; this will not interfere with a previously cast awaken spell, since that awaken spell has already taken effect.

It is worth noting that no existing spell is affected by being prepared. Preparation just determines whether you can cast the spell that day; it never interferes with ongoing effects, unless those effects require you to recast the spell, as in animate dead:

To maintain control of the creature for another 24 hours, you must cast this spell on the creature again before the current 24-hour period ends.

If you cast animate dead yesterday, but did not prepare it today, you would be unable to cast it again to perpetuate the effect of yesterday’s animate dead.

  • \$\begingroup\$ In re your last sentence, is the example of that constraint something like animate dead? (Which is to a corpse, somewhat, what awaken is to a tree). \$\endgroup\$ Commented Oct 12, 2021 at 18:40
  • \$\begingroup\$ @KorvinStarmast Correct. The idea there is that if you do not prepare animate dead today, you are unable to cast it today to perpetuate the effect. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Oct 12, 2021 at 18:42
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ In that case, it might be helpful to cite that spell as an example of the point you are making. Up to you. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Oct 12, 2021 at 18:42
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ I mean, if you want to get real technical, you don't necessarily need to have prepared animate dead to cast it - scrolls, staves, and other magic items could let you do it without preparation. \$\endgroup\$
    – minnmass
    Commented Oct 12, 2021 at 21:06

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .