6
\$\begingroup\$

The Magic Stone spell creates pebbles that can be used to make a ranged spell attack by hurling or firing from a sling. Hunter's Mark requires a 'weapon attack' to take effect.

Jeremy Crawford has ruled in a variety of (to me conflicting) ways on the subject of Magic Stone:

https://twitter.com/JeremyECrawford/status/940654827683631110

https://twitter.com/JeremyECrawford/status/652548438966403072

https://twitter.com/JeremyECrawford/status/752595441477312512

It seems explicitly clear that Sneak Attack is okay when using a sling (but not when hurled). But is Hunter's Mark also okay when using a sling?

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • \$\begingroup\$ Note that sneak attack specifies "Attack", which I believe would include any sort of attack such as weapon, spell, or ranged, will hunter's mark specifies "Weapon Attack" \$\endgroup\$
    – yesennes
    Oct 18 at 15:32
  • \$\begingroup\$ The relevant bit is that Sneak Attack requires a finesse or ranged weapon. \$\endgroup\$
    – wumpus7
    Oct 19 at 15:26
11
\$\begingroup\$

No, magic stone is a spell attack, not a weapon attack.

The description of hunter’s mark says:

Until the spell ends, you deal an extra 1d6 damage to the target whenever you hit it with a weapon attack

The description of the magic stone says:

You or someone else can make a ranged spell attack with one of the pebbles by throwing it or hurling it with a sling.

Since magic stone is not a weapon attack, but is instead a spell attack, it does not work with hunter’s mark.

\$\endgroup\$
9
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @SeriousBri You chuck it like a normal rock and it will do normal rock damage. \$\endgroup\$ Oct 18 at 8:31
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @SeriousBri It’s a rock in a sling, which usually works, and there is nothing that says you can’t? \$\endgroup\$ Oct 18 at 11:35
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Let us continue this discussion in chat. \$\endgroup\$ Oct 18 at 16:43
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ To answer my own comment, slinging Magic Stones uses a ranged weapon, but it still makes a ranged spell attack, not a weapon attack. \$\endgroup\$
    – wumpus7
    Oct 19 at 5:46
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @SeriousBri - 'Can' gives you the two options for using Magic Stones: hurl them or sling them. I'm not sure why you're reading it as giving you an option to not make a ranged spell attack? You (or someone else) don't have to use the Magic Stones for anything, but you can, if you want, and here's how. \$\endgroup\$
    – wumpus7
    Oct 19 at 15:33

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .