7
\$\begingroup\$

I'm waffling on some interpretations regarding the Order of Scribes wizard subclass in Tasha's Cauldron of Everything, and would really appreciate some second opinions. Most of the features seem pretty straightforward in their application, but as usual I think there are some edge case spells with more than one reasonable interpretation. So let's take the following lines from the Order of Scribes (TCE 77) level 6 feature "Manifest Mind" (emphasis mine, with an attempt to just share the relevant parts of the feature):

... As a bonus action while the book is on your person, you can cause the mind to manifest as a Tiny spectral object, hovering in an unoccupied > space of your choice within 60 feet of you. The spectral mind is intangible and doesn't occupy its space, and it sheds dim light in a 10-foot radius.

Whenever you cast a wizard spell on your turn, you can cast it as if you were in the spectral mind's space, instead of your own, using its senses. You can do so a number of times per day equal to your proficiency bonus, and you regain all expended uses when you finish a long rest.

... The spectral mind stops manifesting if it is ever more than 300 feet away from you...

Mage Hand / Unseen Servant: here it's not so clear to me at all. Let's stick with Mage Hand for purposes of simplicity, though both spells have similar language to

The hand vanishes if it is ever more than 30 feet away from you.

Obviously everything works as expected within the normal range restrictions (say, through a keyhole, then send it behind a bookshelf). But what if the manifest mind is 100 ft away? You can obviously conjure the Mage Hand through the manifest mind, but does it vanish before you can spend an action to have it do anything? Is this Mage Hand tethered to your physical location, or is it tethered to the manifest mind's location since you cast it as if you were in that space?

I would appreciate any thoughts or references I may have missed that would clarify my uncertainties, and thanks for your time!

\$\endgroup\$
5
\$\begingroup\$

The mage hand would vanish immediately after casting.

The Manifest Mind feature definitely allows you to cast mage hand as if you were in the Mind's space:

Whenever you cast a wizard spell on your turn, you can cast it as if you were in the spectral mind's space, instead of your own

The only thing you can treat as if it were in the Mind's space is the casting of the spell. After that, any thing that references you and your location is referring to you and your location, not the Mind's location. So if you conjure the hand in a space more than 30 feet away from you, mage hand says:

The hand vanishes if it is ever more than 30 feet away from you

It would vanish immediately upon casting the spell.

\$\endgroup\$
5
  • \$\begingroup\$ This was my gut interpretation as well. I think RAI may be vague (potentially subjecting the feature or spell to change in future errata/editions), but RAW I read it the same as you do. A shame, and these would play quite nice together. \$\endgroup\$ Oct 20 at 16:50
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @BlivetWidget If I had to venture a guess about rules as intended, it would be that the developers did not consider this interaction at all and that there simply is no rules as intended here. \$\endgroup\$ Oct 20 at 16:51
  • \$\begingroup\$ Oh, I'm sure you're right. It does annoy me so when they do things without intention. \$\endgroup\$ Oct 20 at 17:01
  • \$\begingroup\$ Personally if it were at my table, I'd allow the hand to continue to exist so long as it's within range of the Mind. \$\endgroup\$ Oct 20 at 21:11
  • \$\begingroup\$ @DarthPseudonym FWIW, so would I. I was just trying to make sure I had a firm grasp of it RAW ("Learn the rules so you know how to break them properly" and all that. Plus, to be prepared for it on either side of the table). \$\endgroup\$ Oct 21 at 0:59

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .