2
\$\begingroup\$

How many bound items can you have?

By "bound" I am referring to features which state something like "you receive [some item] as a bonded object".

For example, the wizard’s bonded item option, the magus’s blackblade archetype which is a bound weapon, or ioun bound arcane discovery.

\$\endgroup\$
9
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ I, what? Are you sure you're talking about pathfinder 1e? If so, what exactly are you referring to? Can you provide links to the relevant content you're asking about? \$\endgroup\$
    – willuwontu
    Nov 8, 2021 at 5:39
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ I'm also unfamiliar with the concept of item "binding" \$\endgroup\$
    – Ifusaso
    Nov 8, 2021 at 6:40
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ 99% of the magic items work by wearing. \$\endgroup\$
    – Trish
    Nov 8, 2021 at 11:11
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Trish unsure if that's aimed at the OP or my comment, so I figured I may as well explain myself. I'm unsure if the OP is talking about binding as in wearing a magic item, or binding as in something like a wizard's bonded item (my first thought), or occultist implements. It could even be some 3rd party class that binds objects or something about having ropes tied around you to bind you to an object (unlikely but still possible). Given how there's nothing to go off of, I believe this question needs more details before it's reopened. \$\endgroup\$
    – willuwontu
    Nov 8, 2021 at 15:10
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ It was a comment about how PF1 handled magic items: most of them just demand you to be in possession of them and use them, at times for a specified time. \$\endgroup\$
    – Trish
    Nov 8, 2021 at 15:13

2 Answers 2

4
\$\begingroup\$

As far as I can find, there is no rules text about bound items, just that you only get one from each class feature that gives you one, such as the features described in the question. There are no other rules about bound objects aside from what is explicitly described in those class features.

\$\endgroup\$
2
\$\begingroup\$

There is no upper limit.

Some specific items limit you to an amount of its type (like "only 1 black blade"), but you can have as many objects as you want.

A wizard multiclassed with arcane sorcerer can select 'bonded object' on both, getting 2 objects. they need to be separate ones (not the same amulet), and they ant cross class (the wizards ring doesn't give you an extra sorcerer spell)

\$\endgroup\$

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .