The Fire Shield spell (PHB, p. 242; emphasis mine) states:

[...] In addition, whenever a creature within 5 feet of you hits you with a melee attack, the shield erupts with flame. The attacker takes 2d8 fire damage from a warm shield, or 2d8 cold damage from a cold shield.

The Imbued Wood Focus (Fernian Ash) (ERLW, p. 277; WGE, p. 114; emphasis mine) states:

[...] When you cast a damage-dealing spell using this item as your spellcasting focus, you gain a +1 bonus to one fire damage roll of the spell.

Does that +1 fire damage applies the first time a Wizard does damage with his Fire Shield?


1 Answer 1


"Damage-dealing spell" is not a keyword in 5e, I can see two possible interpretations;

  1. Fire Shield is a damage dealing spell as it can deal damage
  2. Fire Shield is not a damage dealing spell as it does not deal damage directly but instead creates an effect that deals damage

It's up to your DM to make a ruling, there is no resolution from the official rules.

FWIW (nothing?) dndbeyond tags Fire Shield with the "Damage" tag.


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .