The text of Weird seems to imply that the frightened condition is a prerequisite for the target to take damage. Hero's Feast makes a party immune to the frightened condition. Would this mean that Weird would have no effect, i.e. PCs under Hero's Feast's effect would not take damage?

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ I found a question (that I also answered) that I think is a duplicate. Does that seem like an appropriate dupe closure to you? \$\endgroup\$ Nov 14, 2021 at 18:13

1 Answer 1


Yes, Hero’s Feast makes you immune to Weird.

Weird says:

At the end of each of the frightened creature's turns, it must succeed on a Wisdom saving throw or take 4d10 psychic damage.

Since hero’s feast makes you immune to frightened, you cannot be “the frightened creature”, and only “the frightened creature” takes the damage from weird.

  • \$\begingroup\$ Thanks! What an underwhelming 9th level spell \$\endgroup\$
    – Trekkie
    Nov 14, 2021 at 18:08
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Trekkie Yeah, I have always been confused by this one. I have house ruled before that weird was 6th level and let one of my players use it that way, and it felt about right. \$\endgroup\$ Nov 14, 2021 at 18:10

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .