We had this come up in our last game. The cleric was dumping multiple instances of spiritual weapon against the BBEG while bottlenecking the minion stack and protecting the backline. On the round following the third casting of spiritual weapon the BBEG pulled out a scroll of invisibility and turned himself invisible to make the "Grand Escape".
Now, the DM in this case ruled that spiritual weapon was allowed to continue attacking the BBEG because all three instances of the spell had set the BEEG as its target BEFORE the creature went invisible. But with that ruling, everyone was honestly confused on weather or not spiritual weapon "Cares" if the creature is invisible for the 50% miss chance due to concealment.
Can anyone give a clear RAW interpretation on how to correctly run the sequence of interactions:
- Cleric casts spiritual weapon on a valid target.
- Target later becomes invisible.
So, does spiritual weapon get to continue attacking the invisible target? And if so, how is it handled?