10
\$\begingroup\$

Obviously, yes, they can. However, is a wizard Proficient with an unarmed strike?

I was writing up a wizard for a campaign, and when I was going over them I noticed that they don't just get simple weapon proficiency, instead they have a list of weapons they're proficient with. Unarmed Strike isn't on it, and technically it is listed as a simple weapon.

At first I thought it didn't make sense, but when I thought about it, it kind of did. You're basically a scholar, you have almost no weapons training at all-Why would you know how to throw a punch? I know from personal experience, if you've never been shown how to punch correctly (or kick, for that matter) it's not just something everyone picks up.

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • 6
    \$\begingroup\$ Even if they ARE proficient by the rules, I think the idea of them NOT being proficient is way too cool to not make it work like that, \$\endgroup\$
    – Maurycy
    Dec 5, 2012 at 21:17

1 Answer 1

15
\$\begingroup\$

Yes wizards are proficient in unarmed strike. Note this line from the SRD Weapons Page:

All characters are proficient with unarmed strikes and any natural weapons they gain from their race.

\$\endgroup\$
3
  • \$\begingroup\$ I can't find it on the page. Could you be more specific where you found it, please? \$\endgroup\$
    – Zach
    Dec 6, 2012 at 20:00
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Zach, you can use your browser's search function (ctrl+f) to find the quoted text exactly. It is 4th sentence under the heading: Simple, Martial, and Exotic Weapons. The hyperlink should take you directly to the heading. \$\endgroup\$
    – Colin D
    Dec 6, 2012 at 20:14
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Here's the relevant PRD link: paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/… \$\endgroup\$
    – Cthos
    Dec 6, 2012 at 20:49

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .