Are spells gained from cleric domains, oracle mysteries, wizard elemental schools, sorcerer bloodlines and other such class abilities
considered to be on your spell list?
First, unless an ability explicitly says that it does add a spell to your class' spell list, it doesn't.
Second, class features that add a spell to the Spells Known of a character, also add that spell to the class' spell list as well. [This is from a FAQ, see below]
Third, even if an ability adds a spell to a class' spell list, these spells are only added to the class' spell list once the character reaches the point of getting that bonus spell – unless the ability explicitly states otherwise.
Cleric Domains and Wizard Schools make it very clear that these spells can only be prepared in the Domain/School spell slot, not in the normal class spell slots (unless they are on the cleric/wizard spell list anyway). Normal class spell-slots can only be used to cast spells that appear on the spell list of that class.
As a result:
- Domain spells are not added to the (cleric's) spell list
- School spells are not added to the (wizard's) spell list
- Mystery spells are added to the (oracle's) spell list
- Bloodline spells are added to the (sorcerer's) spell list
But again, they are only added to the class' spell list when the character receives that bonus spell.
For example, a 3rd-level Sorcerer adds the 1st-level spell gained from his Bloodline to his Spells Known and the sorcerer spell list, but the bonus spells gained at the 5th sorcerer level or higher are not yet added to the sorcerer spell list.
As another example, a Wood Wizard's school explicitly states that it adds certain spells to the wizard spell list, and all of those spells are added immediately to the spell list, you do not have to wait to reach a certain level:
Wood Magic: At 1st level, add the following spells to your wizard spell list at the listed spell level: 2nd—entangle, 3rd—tree shape,
4th—plant growth, 5th—command plants, 6th—tree stride, 7th—liveoak,
8th—transmute metal to wood, 9th—control plants.
New Spells Known: If I gain the ability to add a spell that is not on my spell list to my list of spells known, without adding it to my
spell list, can I cast it?
No. Adding a spell to your list of spells known does not add it to the spell list of that class unless they are added by a class feature
of that same class. For example, sorcerers add their bloodline spells
to their sorcerer spell list and oracles add their mystery spells to
their oracle spell list. The spell slots of a class can only be used
to cast spells that appear on the spell list of that class.
For the purposes of crafting, casting spells from scrolls and so forth, …
Make sure to read the specific item crafting rules carefully. For example, a Wizard can craft scrolls of any spells he has prepared, regardless of whether they are on his spell list or not:
The creator must have prepared the spell to be scribed (or must know
the spell, in the case of a sorcerer or bard) and must provide any
material component or focus the spell requires. A material component
is consumed when she begins writing, but a focus is not. (A focus used
in scribing a scroll can be reused.) The act of writing triggers the
prepared spell, making it unavailable for casting until the character
has rested and regained spells. (That is, that spell slot is expended
from the caster’s currently prepared spells, just as if it had been
Thus, a Wizard or Cleric can scribe scrolls with the spells they have prepared in their School/Domain spell-slots, even if these spells are not on their class spell list.
Can you as a lower level cleric with destruction domain, who hasn't yet reached 7th level domain slot, cast disintegrate from a scroll
obtained from a colleague who has written a divine scroll of
No, as explained above.