This other question discusses how silvery barbs interacts with advantage and disadvantage. But there are some effects that let someone reroll a d20 without using the advantage/disadvantage mechanic, such as the Lucky feat or legendary resistances.

How does silvery barbs interact with these? For example, can I use Lucky to reroll a failure caused by silvery barbs, or use silvery barbs to force an enemy to reroll again after they use a legendary resistance to succeed? And does this change at all if the original roll had advantage or disadvantage?

  • \$\begingroup\$ I think we’ve got a duplicate here. Check the linked question and let us know if they answers your question. It should, but maybe I’m missing something. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Dec 9, 2021 at 22:59
  • \$\begingroup\$ @ThomasMarkov To me there's a fundamental difference: all the features mentioned in that question are used by the same person (the one who made the roll), while silvery barbs is imposed by someone else. This means it now matters when in the process the reaction for silvery barbs triggers: the caster doesn't necessarily get to choose whether they use it before or after something else (to my read). \$\endgroup\$
    – Draconis
    Commented Dec 9, 2021 at 23:01
  • \$\begingroup\$ Hmm, that is a good point. You’ve sold it to me. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Dec 9, 2021 at 23:08

1 Answer 1


Legendary Resistance

If the lich fails a saving throw, it can choose to succeed instead.

Silvery Barbs will force the creature to reroll and take the lowest. If that's a failure, it can choose to succeed.


Silvery Barbs beats Lucky because the Lucky feat requires you to use it "before the outcome is determined", while Silvery Barbs happens when that roll succeeds i.e. after the outcome is determined.

Halfling Luck

This works as normal, if you roll a 1, you reroll once even if that roll was caused by Silvery Barbs. You still take the lowest.


This is addressed in How does the silvery barbs spell interact with the enemy having advantage? None of the above make any difference to this.


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .