5
\$\begingroup\$

I am fighting undead creatures and have Sanctuary on me. If I use Heal does that end Sanctuary?

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Are you using Heal to damage undead? \$\endgroup\$
    – Akixkisu
    Dec 17 '21 at 3:50
9
\$\begingroup\$

Yes*

Assuming you mean using Heal to damage undead, then yes. There is nothing in Sanctuary that excludes hostile actions that target undead. Damaging is 100% a hostile action, and, per Sanctuary:

If the target uses a hostile action, the spell ends.

The rules for hostile actions state that:

A hostile action is one that can harm or damage another creature...

So using Heal to damage undead qualifies.

Note: This does mean you can still use Heal (in any of its variants) to target your allies for healing, though, without breaking Sanctuary.

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • 5
    \$\begingroup\$ May want to throw a link in about Pathfinder 2e's definition of "Hostile Actions", particularly, "A hostile action is one that can harm or damage another creature" - 2e.aonprd.com/Rules.aspx?ID=300 \$\endgroup\$
    – brandon
    Dec 16 '21 at 23:46
  • \$\begingroup\$ @brandon that's an excellent idea, thank you! I had no idea that rule even existed, I'm glad it's defined. \$\endgroup\$
    – ESCE
    Dec 17 '21 at 0:20

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .