If my 'next attack roll' is subject to a condition like disadvantage does avoiding the attack roll 'use up' that condition?
An example rules text, snipped from Vicious Mockery:
[...] the target [...] must succeed on a Wisdom saving throw or [...] have disadvantage on the next attack roll it makes before the end of its next turn.
The rules for Arcane Shot, from the Arcane Archer say:
Once per turn when you fire an arrow from a shortbow or longbow as part of the Attack action, you can apply one of your Arcane Shot options to that arrow. You decide to use the option when the arrow hits a creature, unless the option doesn’t involve an attack roll.
While Making an Attack says lists this order:
Choose a target. [...]
Determine modifiers. The DM determines whether the target has cover and whether you have advantage or disadvantage against the target. In addition, spells, special abilities, and other effects can apply penalties or bonuses to your attack roll.
Resolve the attack. You make the attack roll. [...]
So, allowing for the obvious fact the DM can overrule this, is this sequence of events possible
- choose my target,
- be told/determine I have disadvantage,
- resolve the attack rolling disadvantage
- decide to use an Arcane Shot (such as Seeking Arrow or Piercing Arrow) that 'doesn't involve an attack roll', either before you find out if hits (if given the option by the DM), after another effect alters your attack (such as the spell Bane), or on a miss, and thus avoid disadvantage on future attacks this round?
The choice is made as part of the attack action, before the arrow has 'hit' as the Arcane Shot choice 'doesn't involve an attack roll'.
Or have I missed something? Does Arcane Shot saying 'when the arrow hits a creature' imply after resolving the attack it's too late?