Related to Does interacting with things inside the area of an Alarm spell trigger it?, still assuming Alarm is cast using the area option, is the caster alerted if a Spiritual Weapon is moved into the area of their Alarm spell?

The warding spell states:

Until the spell ends, an alarm alerts you whenever a Tiny or larger creature touches or enters the warded area.

As far as I can see, the spectral weapon that is evoked, is not a creature of any size. Instead it is merely a:

[...] floating, spectral weapon [...]

And has no other relevant text, not even whether it's considered a creature or tiny.

Creatures that you 'create' that can interact with the environment seem to either have statistics, like with Unseen Servant (Medium size with AC and HP), or not as with Mage Hand (no given size, AC or HP).

But I have seen answers stating the weapon can act as a 'source of damage' which has confused me.

So, is the Alarm caster alerted?


1 Answer 1


A spell only creates a creature if it says it does

None of the spells cited in your question say anything about creating or summoning creatures. Mage hand creates a "spectral, floating hand", unseen servant creates a "Medium force", and spiritual weapon creates a "floating, spectral weapon". None of these entities are ever described as creatures in the spells' texts, not even the force created by unseen servant. Since alarm is only triggered by creatures, none of these spells is capable of triggering an alarm spell.

  • \$\begingroup\$ That makes sense, I just know there's at least a few answers to questions here that imply the weapon is the attacker, and thus must be some sort of unspecified creature, i.e. rpg.stackexchange.com/questions/133787/… \$\endgroup\$ Commented Dec 23, 2021 at 15:34
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @AncientSwordRage An attacker doesn't have to be a creature. Bigby's hand creates a "force" which has hit points, AC, and can attack like a creature, but is not a creature. IIRC some traps also roll attacks when triggered. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Dec 23, 2021 at 15:38
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ @RyanC.Thompson Just to be precise, a Bigby's hand is an object in game terms, not just a "force". \$\endgroup\$
    – Eddymage
    Commented Dec 23, 2021 at 15:47

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .