11
\$\begingroup\$

The haste spell states:

Choose a willing creature [...] it gains an additional action on each of its turns. That action can be used only to take the Attack (one weapon attack only) [...] action.

Stalker's Flurry states (emphasis mine):

[...] Once on each of your turns when you miss with a weapon attack, you can make another weapon attack as part of the same action.

If you take the Attack action with haste, and miss with the attack, can you then use Stalker's Flurry or does the "one weapon attack only" clause of haste overrule using the feature?

\$\endgroup\$
1

1 Answer 1

15
\$\begingroup\$

Stalker’s Flurry is not “more specific” than Extra Attack.

Extra Attack reads:

you can attack twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn.

Stalker’s Flurry says:

Once on each of your turns when you miss with a weapon attack, you can make another weapon attack as part of the same action.

Both of these features give a second attack to an Attack action. However, haste states:

That action can be used only to take the Attack (one weapon attack only) [...] action.

What is the point of saying “one weapon attack only” if every feature that gives an extra attack overrides it? Because haste limits the number of attacks you can make with its action, you are limited in the number of attacks you can make with it. There is nothing in Stalker’s Flurry that makes it “more specific” so that it overrides haste’s restriction when Extra Attack does not.

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • \$\begingroup\$ Do I understand correctly, that your answer could be summarized as: With Stalker’s Flurry, once on each of your turns when you miss with a weapon attack, you can make another weapon attack as part of the same action, unless that action was the extra attack action granted by Haste? \$\endgroup\$ Dec 29, 2021 at 17:32

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .