The spell Find Steed has a range of 30ft and describes where your summoned steed appears using the language:
"Appearing in an unoccupied space within range, the steed ..."
My question has two parts:
- Does this language imply that the steed can appear in a space that the player cannot see? If so, can the space be one the player has never seen?
- Who determines (the player or DM) in what space the steed appears?
My player wants to stealthily assassinate an NPC. He goes to her house and stands beneath her window while she is asleep. He has never been inside her room before. He cannot see into her room (the windows have curtains). Can he summon a steed inside her room to do his dirty work for him?
In game, I let my player do this because I thought it was very clever. However, after the session, we've been looking into the RAW and can't find an answer we are satisfied with.
The spell text seems to allow for this exact thing, but we are curious if there are rules elsewhere in the books or if any rule clarifications have been made that prevent this cheeky use of the spell.
As we see it the argument for being allowed to do this is that the spell specifically omits the "appears in an unoccupied space that you can see within range" line that is used in other conjuration spells like Conjure Animals and Conjure Celestial, which seems to imply this was a deliberate decision and therefore that this is a valid use of the spell.
On the other hand, the argument could be made (although we have no RAW support for this) that, logically speaking, you would have to be either able to see the space you want to summon the creature into or at least be familiar with it enough to visualize it (for instance, you could make the steed appear in your room from outside because you can picture it, but not in a room you have never been into before).
Of course all of this presupposes that the player is the one that chooses where the steed appears (something we have always just assumed is the case). However, now that we are scrutinizing this, we are wondering if when a spell uses the term "appears" the player does not get any choice on where the creature appears, rather it is left solely to the DM to choose a 'natural' location from the perspective of the summoned creature.
Any additional perspectives would be much appreciated!