8
\$\begingroup\$

The Sap Life feat provides you HP when you damage a living creature with Harm. There is just one requirement, you need to be a living creature.

If you have the Dhampir heritage, you are "half living and half undead", and are "healed by negative effects as if you were undead".

So if you cast 1st level Harm, spending 3 actions, dealing 5 damage (to a living creature in range) in an emanation, how much are you healed? I expect it to be 6 HP, 5 from Harm itself, and 1 from Sap Life.

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ That's a tough question, good spot. Interested to see others' thoughts, I can't quite make up my mind on it. For context for others, the ability to become full undead is (presumably) coming in the upcoming Book of the Dead. So it's not like the only case in which the PC can be even somewhat undead is via Dhampir. \$\endgroup\$
    – ESCE
    Jan 14 at 16:20

2 Answers 2

7
\$\begingroup\$

The Same as Any Living Creature

A dhampir would be healed by Sap Life because they are a living creature (despite their closeness to undeath), and because Sap Life is not a positive healing effect.

Here's from the ancestry description:

Despite being living creatures, dhampirs respond to positive and negative energy as if they were undead

And from the negative healing ability dhampir's have:

A creature with negative healing draws health from negative energy rather than positive energy. It is damaged by positive damage and is not healed by positive healing effects. It does not take negative damage, and it is healed by negative effects that heal undead.

Sap Life doesn't have the positive trait that many other healing abilities like breath of life and lay on hands do, so a dhampir's negative healing wouldn't prevent it from working and they would be healed just as any other living creature would.

A 1st-level harm with a roll of 5 would heal the dhampir for 6 points as you suggested, as long as any living creature also took damage from the spell.

\$\endgroup\$
8
\$\begingroup\$

Sap Life Is Triggered

The harm spell heals a dhampir, so you heal 5 points, from your example.

With one or more other living creatures affected by the spell, if any of them takes damage, then you gain the benefits of Sap Life, healing 1 more point.

When you cast a harm spell and damage at least one living creature, you regain Hit Points equal to the spell level of your harm spell.

If you are the only target of harm, then no damage is dealt to you, and Sap Life doesn't trigger.

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ I thought "dealing 5 damage in an emanation" shows clearly enough that there is a living creature in range, but apparently not. Edited. \$\endgroup\$
    – András
    Jan 15 at 8:18

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .