When skipping through the All Flesh Must Be Eaten rulebook, I noticed that you can create PCs with negative strength values (e.g., children). As hand weapons do damage based on that strength value, they could actually produce negative damage results:

D4(2) x Strength

I couldn't find anything in the AFMBE rulebook or errata that prevented this. I think I'll go and just ignore the multiplier for negative values, making it effectively 1. Or maybe it should be 0, as a character with such low strength can't possibly do any form of damage using a hand weapon.

Are there any rules for this?


1 Answer 1


There's a rule for calculating Secondary Attributes based off Attributes that have a zero or negative value. It seems reasonable—although doesn't appear explicitly, as far as I can tell—to do the same for damage when multiplying by the Strength Attribute.

All Flesh Must Be Eaten (Revised), page 33

Some characters have Attributes of 0 or even in the negative numbers. These levels represent Attributes that are far below average. Special rules for determining Secondary Attributes are required in this case. When dealing with low Primary Attributes, treat them as being equal to 1 for determination purposes. If the Attribute is negative, then subtract it from the resulting Secondary Attribute. ... The special rule for treating 0s and negative numbers in Secondary Attributes only applies to those that involve multiplication

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ I should point out that for negative numbers, this rule goes on to subtract the number from the result - for Life Points with a negative Strength, for example, you'd calculate Life Points as if you had Strength 1 but then subtract your Strength from the final result. This should probably also apply to weapon damage - a D4 x Str weapon should probably do 1d4 - Str. Deciding whether the minimum should be 1 or 0 is entirely up to you. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Oct 30, 2014 at 8:49
  • \$\begingroup\$ @gatherer818 An excellent point! Answer updated. \$\endgroup\$
    – okeefe
    Commented Oct 30, 2014 at 14:54

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .