For the ring of spell storing, I know a stored spell's save DC/attack bonus is based on the caster who originally stored the spell in the ring.

But say the original caster uses temporary items to boost their spell save DC/spell attack bonus (such as a bloodwell vial) after they've stored a spell in the ring. If the stored spell is then cast from the ring of spell storing, which version of the original caster's spell save DC/attack bonus is used?

  • Is it the spell DC/attack bonus of the caster at the time the spell was stored?
  • Or is it the caster's current spell DC/attack bonus (i.e. at the time the stored spell is cast from the ring)?

Another similar situation:

Say I cast a spell into the ring of spell storing. I then level up and my proficiency bonus increases.
If the stored spell is then cast from the ring, does it use the spell save DC/attack bonus from before I level up (i.e. when it was stored in the ring)? Or the new values after I level up?


1 Answer 1


The description of the ring of spell storing magic item states:

While wearing this ring, you can cast any spell stored in it. The spell uses the slot level, spell save DC, spell attack bonus, and spellcasting ability of the original caster, but is otherwise treated as if you cast the spell.

While the description makes no mention of the current or past state of the spellcaster, consider what happens when you rule that it's based on the current state of the spellcaster:

  • Someone casts a spell into the ring of spell storing, and then later on you get your hands on it.
  • It turns out the caster was later hit by a feeblemind spell (and their ability score dropped to 1)
  • Or they died.

You wouldn't tack on a -4 (or whatever the minus is for a dead spellcaster) just because the original caster's current spell attack bonus (or spell save DC) is different.

From this, I don't think it's unreasonable to say the spell save DC/attack bonus should be based on whatever the caster's was when the spell was stored in the ring.

Important note: This doesn't stack with other spells or abilities that grant a bonus to attack rolls or give advantage, because all of those require an attack roll – which is not part of putting the spell into the ring.

The vial would work because it grants a bonus to the spell save DC, not to the attack roll.

And as a counter-example, you couldn't store a spell with extra Bardic Inspiration stored with it, because Bardic Inspiration is a bonus to an attack roll – not to the act of storing the spell, which doesn't involve an attack.


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .