I have a wildshape focused level 12 druid who's main wildshape form is a huge giant octopus, which gets lots of attacks with reach. The main issue I am finding is things with DR. I do have planar wildshape so I can bypass the alignment DR of one enemy/day with smite (provided the alignment is evil/good), but have no way of getting through material DR (until I can afford a natural amulet +3 which. I would love a spell that would treat my natural attacks as cold iron or silver if needed. A wizard is joining the party and I saw this spell: heart of the metal.
I am not sure if this works on my tentacles/bite or not. Do they count as weapons for purpose of the spell?
All over the Pazio forums and elsewhere on the internet I read conflicting information on if natural attacks count as weapons for something like this. I am inclined to believe they do, because it doesn't specify it doesn't, where spells like magic weapon and align weapon specifically say they don't work on natural attacks. Thematically it also makes sense because it specifies it can work on non-metal weapons, and if you can turn a club or bone spear, or whatever else into something that magically counts as metal, why couldn't you do the same for a claw or tooth or tentacle?
On the other hand, I see a lot of forums say that most spells that say "weapon" are using it as shorthand for "manufactured weapon" and therefore natural attacks don't count. One particularly loud member of the group is insisting that spells like magic weapon are specifying it to remind people of the general rule instead of as an exception to it. Was there ever any official ruling on this, or evidence from the books that would suggest one way or another?
I don't think the GM has ruled on this yet. I am of the opinion this should work, based on other spells specifically saying when they don't, but there is that pushy rules-lawyery player in my party that is also GMing a separate instance of the same adventure path for another group, who thinks he knows everything and is louder than everyone, who keeps insisting it doesn't. I need hard evidence one way or another.
Examples of discussions I see online about this:
There were more but I'm having a hard time finding the specific ones at the moment. None of them seemed to have conclusive evidence one way or another, and the other one on stack exchange even lists the spell as a way to have natural attacks go though DR in the accepted answer, but no proof of why this works is given