1
\$\begingroup\$

The Metamagic Feat Dazing Spell says:

When a creature takes damage from this spell, they become dazed...

If I create a pit and the enemy falls into it will it be dazed if I have casted it 3 levels higher using Dazing Spell?

\$\endgroup\$

1 Answer 1

3
\$\begingroup\$

No

Dazing Spell says:

When a creature takes damage from this spell, they become dazed for a number of rounds equal to the original level of the spell. […] Spells that do not inflict damage do not benefit from this feat.

while Create Pit says:

Creatures who fall into the pit take falling damage as normal.

Thus, the spell itself does not deal any damage to creatures, they merely take falling damage as normal. Just like you wouldn't deal falling damage with a spell that merely pushes someone over the edge of a cliff.

However, other pit spells like Spiked Pit and Acid Pit do deal their own piercing/acid spell damage and can therefore be used with Dazing Spell.

\$\endgroup\$

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .