I searched for an answer to this question, but could not find one.

The "Infusing an Item" section of the artificer's Infuse Item feature description states:

Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch a nonmagical object and imbue it with one of your artificer infusions, turning it into a magic item.

Once my artificer achieved the appropriate level, he chose the Replicate Magic Item infusion for a Bag of Holding. This he fashioned from his existing backpack, which has a PHB weight of 5 lbs. However, a Bag of Holding normally weighs 15 lbs.

Which weight do I use for my encumbrance considerations: 5 lbs. or 15 lbs.?

  • \$\begingroup\$ I don't see the confusion here. The artificer was following a recipe to make a BoH. One of the ingredients had a weight of 5 lbs, but that seems irrelevant - the creation was successful, the backpack doesn't exist any more, and the artificer now has a BoH (which weighs 15 lbs). \$\endgroup\$ Mar 1, 2022 at 9:41

1 Answer 1


The (infused) Bag of Holding weighs as much as a (non-infused) Bag of Holding

When you use the Replicate Magic Item infusion, you are... replicating a magic item:

Using this infusion, you replicate a particular magic item.

This is reinforced by the description of the Infuse Item feature (emphasis added):

At 2nd level, you gain the ability to imbue mundane items with certain magical infusions. The magic items you create with this feature are effectively prototypes of permanent items. [...] you can touch a non-magical object and imbue it with one of your artificer infusions, turning it into a magic item.

So, the backpack that was infused to create a Bag of Holding is literally a Bag of Holding as long as it remains infused. Unless otherwise noted, the properties of the item are identical to the non-infusion-based version of the magic item being replicated. That includes the item's weight.


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .