There are several questions that indicate that Wizards of the Coast's organized play outlet for D&D 5e, Adventurer's League, restricts character creation to the Player's Handbook and only ONE optional rulebook (you choose which one).

E.g. you could use the PHB and Xanathar's Guide to Everything, or the PHB and Tasha's Cauldron of Everything, but not all three of them.

I think this is a wise rule, as it allows making use of all the content, and at the same time limits the nearly unavoidable emergence of broken combinations that can arise when combining ever more features and abilities in unforeseen ways.

However, looking at the Player's Guide document from the WotC AL site, I see no such limitation. Right on page 1, it says

WHAT RULEBOOKS SHOULD I USE? You can use non-optional rules found in the Player’s Handbook, the Basic Rules, and all the books listed below.

and then continues to list out pretty much everything, Volo's, Tasha's, Mordenkainen's, Fizbans, and so on.

Can someone clarify if the PHB + 1 guideline is still in effect?

  • \$\begingroup\$ The appropriate way to call more attention to the existing question here is to offer a bounty—one of the options for why you’re offering a bounty is to seek up-to-date information. \$\endgroup\$
    – KRyan
    Commented Mar 5, 2022 at 16:22
  • \$\begingroup\$ I was not trying to call attention to it, I was looking for someone to answer. I had searched and had not found the linked answer (it does not contain the clause "PHB + 1"). Having it closed with a link to the existing answer is perfectly fine for my needs. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Mar 5, 2022 at 16:25
  • \$\begingroup\$ Fair enough, my impression based on what you were describing about other answers on this site was that you had already seen it. Anyway, I would point out that the answer in that question is over a year old, so if you want the most up-to-date answer you may want to draw attention to it. \$\endgroup\$
    – KRyan
    Commented Mar 5, 2022 at 16:28
  • \$\begingroup\$ @KRyan would it be OK to edit its title to inlcude the "PHB +1" phrase? that might help \$\endgroup\$ Commented Mar 5, 2022 at 16:29
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ I feel slightly weird about closing this as the target Q&A, as the answer here is the reason we closed that one. However, if this resolves the issue and provides a path to that Q for those who'd search with "PHB + 1", then this Q is doing dupe as intended, ie. being a pointer to the answer using the other wording. \$\endgroup\$
    – Someone_Evil
    Commented Mar 5, 2022 at 16:45


Browse other questions tagged .